Strong turnout for 11th annual Charity Classic at Eagle Eye; winning team posts 18-under score to take top honors

Strong turnout for 11th annual Charity Classic at Eagle Eye; winning team posts 18-under score to take top honors

EAST LANSING -- The foursome of Karl Bohnhoff, Nate Clark, Rick Volkers and Sean Kribs posted a three-stroke victory in the Greater Lansing Amateur Golf Association’s kickoff event – the 11th annual Charity Classic – at Eagle Eye Golf Club on a picture-perfect Sunday afternoon.

The winning foursome carded an 18-under-par round of 62-64-126 to win the “shamble,” in which each team counts its best two scores on each hole after playing its best tee shot.

The foursome of Kevin Voke, Jim Rowe, Chris Pappas and Ron Leal finished runner-up at 129 in the field of 16 teams.

Next up on the GLAGA calendar is the annual Spring Medal at The Emerald north of St. Johns. The 36-hole stroke play event will be played Saturday and Sunday, April 30-May 1.

Many thanks to our returning sponsors, Rehmann and Jersey Giant Subs, as well as our newest event sponsor, the Lansing State Journal and LSJ Media.

For more event information or to sign up for the Spring Medal, go to

2016 GLAGA CHARITY CLASSIC – April 17 @ Eagle Eye GC

First flight team scores:

Team Bohnhoff (126) – Karl Bohnhoff, Rick Volkers, Nate Clark, Sean Kribs

Team Voke (129) – Kevin Voke, Jim Rowe, Chris Pappas, Ron Leal

Team Garza (131) – Andy Garza, Pat Crilley, Rex Foster, Trevor Rosekrans

Team Cunningham (131) – Russ Cunningham, Bob Matthiesen, Randy Mastin, Bill Schmidt

Team Rivard (134) – Steve Rivard, Jim Downs, Paul Hughes, Mike Coscarelli

Team Kleimola (135) – Keith Kleimola, Wes Benzing, Eric Prater, Ted Johnson

Team Rehmann (137) – Edson Borges, Jerry Laban, Ron Hope, Dave Lee

Team Burt (140) – Doug Burt, Josh Burt, Nick Beason, Jeff Gutzman

Second flight team scores:

Team Jersey Giant (143) – Matt Slocum, Kerri Nobach, Trevor Tatroe, Scott Day

Team Hovey (143) – Tim Hovey, Chris Salisbury, Cal Brogan, Dale Hawkins

Team McCarthy (147) – Pat McCarthy, Andy Esch, Troy Miller, Jim Takashima

Team Meyer (148) – Mark Meyer, Dante Centofanti, James Bennett, Jimmy Rakes

Team Golota (149) – Andy Golota, Rick Gallegos, Jake Moses, Kris Hatch

Team Lansing State Journal (155) – Bill Stephan, David Price, Rod McClellan, Chris Roelofs

Team Carroll (159) – Dave Carroll, John Banner, Howie Szukhent, Mike Proper

Team Durham (160) – Craig Durham, Katie Boss, Brandon Simmer, Effort Nedziwe